Own a Gun in Arizona? You Need to Know This Before You Travel!
The Second Amendment and the US Constitution were set up to provide citizens the right to keep and bear arms. Over the years, many states have chipped away at those laws, but in recent years, Arizona has worked to strengthen gun law protections.
The Arizona Constitution reinforces the United States law of the land, stating, “the right of the individual citizen to bear arms in defense of himself or the state shall not be impaired.”
Concealed Carry in Arizona
Like most states, Arizona residents 21 and older can legally own or purchase a firearm.
While that is the law of the land, Arizona takes the law a step further. Arizona is a constitutional carry state. According to USConcealedCarry.com, this means those same gun owners, "can carry a gun loaded and concealed without any type of permit in their vehicle and around the state."
While there are many reasons to get a concealed carry permit and the training that goes with it, as a constitutional carry state, you're not required to have a concealed carry permit to concealed carry a weapon in the state of Arizona.
As long as you're 21 years or older and not a prohibited possessor, you're allowed to carry a concealed firearm. It turns out, Arizona visitors can, too, as long as they meet the same criteria.
Arizona's Concealed Carry Reciprocity with Other States
This is where things get tricky. While our laws are more lenient in Arizona, not all states are willing to honor an Arizona concealed carry permit. Before you venture out, you should know there are several western states where you're just better off leaving your gun at home.
USConceledCarry.com offers a complete map. If you're headed north to Nevada, Montana, North Dakota, or South Dakota, you're in luck. If you've got an Arizona concealed carry permit, they will honor it. Of course, it's always a good idea to carry weapons in locked boxes and to double-check the local laws before you arrive.
Don't Even Think About Bringing Your Guns to These States
If you're traveling up the West Coast, however, leave your firearms in Arizona. California, well known for some of the most restrictive gun laws in the nation, will not honor an Arizona concealed carry permit. Arizona, on the other hand, honors permits from California, but they won't reciprocate.
Like California, neither Oregon nor Washington will let you take your firearms with you. The good news is, that most of the rest of our western states will reciprocate a CCW permit from Arizona, but with restrictions.
How Many in America: From Guns to Ghost Towns
LOOK: What major laws were passed the year you were born?
LOOK: 100 years of American military history