UNDATED (AP) — Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield has received a few more postseason honors.

Mayfield is The Associated Press college football Player of the Year after completing 71 percent of his passes for 4,340 yards, 41 touchdowns and just five interceptions for the 12-1 Sooners so far this season. He easily outpointed Stanford running back Bryce Love and becomes the fourth Oklahoma signal-caller to capture the honor.

Mayfield also is the winner of the Walter Camp Award given to the top college player of the year as chosen by the nation's Football Bowl Subdivision coaches and sports information directors. He came away with the Davey O'Brien Award for the nation's best quarterback, and the Maxwell Award for the outstanding collegiate player.

Mayfield is among the finalists for the Heisman Trophy, along with Love and reigning Heisman recipient Lamar Jackson of Louisville.

Love didn't come away empty-handed Thursday, taking the Doak Walker Award for the outstanding college running back. Love has rushed for 1,973 yards and 17 touchdowns this season, averaging 8.3 yards per carry.

There were a few other college football awards handed out on Thursday.

Alabama's Minkah Fitzpatrick is the winner of the Chuck Bednarik Award for the outstanding collegiate defensive player, and the Jim Thorpe Trophy as the nation's best defensive back. Fitzpatrick is the second straight Crimson Tide player to win the Bednarik award, following Jonathan Allen.

The Fred Biletnikoff Award as the outstanding receiver has gone to James Washington of Oklahoma State.

Houston defensive tackle Ed Oliver has come away with the Outland Trophy as the outstanding collegiate interior lineman.

Georgia's Roquan Smith has been voted the Butkus Award, given to the nation's best linebacker.

Utah's Matt Gay has won the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, and the Ray Guy punter Award has gone to Michael Dickson of Texas.

Tennessee hires Alabama assistant Jeremy Pruitt as coach

UNDATED (AP) — Tennessee's lengthy search for a head football coach is finally over.

The Vols have chosen Alabama defensive coordinator Jeremy Pruitt to take over for Butch Jones, who was dismissed last month. The hiring comes six days after former Tennessee football coach Phillip Fulmer was named athletic director and put in charge of the coaching search.

In other college coaching news:

— Mike Riley is returning to Oregon State, this time as an assistant on new coach Jonathan Smith's staff. Riley was most recently head coach at Nebraska after twice serving as the Beavers' head coach. He is Oregon State's all-time winningest coach with 93 wins.

— South Alabama has hired Central Arkansas coach Steve Campbell to lead its football program. Campbell replaces Joey Jones, who had been the program's only coach since its startup a decade ago.

More From ESPN Western Colorado