Summertime means lots of people out on the roads in Colorado exploring the Rocky Mountains. From Grand Junction to Denver, police will be keeping an eye out for the usual suspects. They'll also be looking for a few things you may not be aware of.

Keep going to check out five lesser-known Colorado driving laws that you may or may not have known about. From earbuds to tailgates, we've got you covered for your summer road trip.

Get our free mobile app

You Can Only Wear Earbuds in One Ear

attachment-Ear Buds - Canva Pro
loading...

If you happen to be wearing earbuds in both ears you can get pulled over in Colorado, and it could mean a Class B Infraction. This could cost anywhere from $15 to $100. Tap this link for more on headphones and driving in Colorado.

Lane Splitting Is Illegal in Colorado

attachment-Lane Splitting - Canva Pro (1)
loading...

Lane splitting is a term used for a motorcycle (or bicycle) that is using the space between cars as if it was its own lane for traffic. Lane Splitting in Colorado is against the law and is a Class A or B infraction. The ticket could cost you up to $100.

Turning Left at a Red Light

attachment-Turn Left on Red - Canva Pro
loading...

In some instances, it is perfectly ok to turn left at a red light in Colorado. In most cases, this is because you are turning left onto a one-way street. Unless there are signs saying it is not allowed you are able to turn left on red onto a one-way street.

Riding in a Pick Up Truck Bed in Colorado

attachment-Riding in a pickup bed - Canva Pro
loading...

Yeehaw! Riding in the truck bed of your friend's pickup truck is perfectly legal as long as the person riding in the truck bed is 16 years old or older. You must also make sure the tailgate is up and secure otherwise you are endangering your passenger. In Colorado, anyone 15 or younger must be in the truck with a seatbelt on.

You Can Get a DUI on a Bike in Colorado

5 Colorado Traffic Laws You May Never Have Heard Of Before.
Canva pro
loading...

Sorry, I can't help but snicker at this one. Yup, a DUI can be issued for someone operating a car, a motorcycle, and even a bicycle. This can be found in Colorado's DUI statute under C.R.S. § 42-4-1301. If your blood alcohol level is over the legal limit it really doesn't matter what you are trying to operate. It's just not safe.

LOOK: Most Common Car Maintenance Mistakes that Get You a Ticket in Colorado

Take note of 11 common vehicle maintenance mistakes that could result in traffic violations, tickets, or fines in Colorado. See if any of the following items need to be checked on your vehicle before your next road trip.

MORE: It Is Illegal To Throw These Things Away in Colorado

There are 14 items that should never be thrown out with the trash in Colorado. Check out this helpful list of hazardous waste reminders that should never go in the garbage in Colorado. While some of these items can be turned in on local hazardous waste collection days, six items on this list can get you into big trouble if you are caught dumping them at a landfill.

MORE: Hot Springs Where You Can Be Legally Naked in Colorado

Have you considered visiting a clothing-optional hot springs in Colorado? There are a number to choose from. Below you'll find information, links, and maps to a number of locations across the state. For the obvious reason, some resorts do not offer photos of their facilities.

More From ESPN Western Colorado